Skip to main content

Department Chairs and Directors

Biology
Richard Thomas, PhD 
Chair
Richard.Thomas@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-6673
biology.wvu.edu


Chemistry
Gregory Dudley, PhD
Chair
Gregory.Dudley@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-0179 
chemistry.wvu.edu


Communication Studies
Scott Myers, PhD
Chair
Scott.Myers@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-3905
communicationstudies.wvu.edu

 
English
Brian Ballentine, PhD
Chair
Brian.Ballentine@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-3988
english.wvu.edu


Forensic and Investigative Science
Casper Venter, MS
Inteirm Chair
Casper.Venter@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-8595
forensics.wvu.edu


Geology and Geography
Tim Carr, PhD
Chair
Tim.Carr@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-9660
geo.wvu.edu


History
Joe Hodge, PhD  
Chair
Joseph.Hodge@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-9327
history.wvu.edu


Mathematics
Marjorie Darrah, PhD
Chair
Marjorie.Darrah@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-8938
math.wvu.edu


Philosophy and Humanities
Sharon Ryan, PhD 
Chair
Sharon.Ryan@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-7704
philosophy.wvu.edu


Physics and Astronomy
D.J. Pisano, PhD
Interim Chair  
djpisano@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-4886
physics.wvu.edu


Political Science
John Kilwein, PhD  
Chair
jkilwein@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-9576
politicalscience.wvu.edu


Psychology
Kevin Larkin, PhD 
Chair
Kevin.Larkin@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-4098
psychology.wvu.edu


Public Administration
Maja Holmes, PhD 
Chair
Maja.Holmes@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-7975
publicadmin.wvu.edu


Social Work
Deana Morrow, PhD 
Director  
deana.morrow@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-5963
socialwork.wvu.edu


Sociology and Anthropology
Lynne Cossman, PhD 
Chair
Lynne.Cossman@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-4823
soca.wvu.edu


Statistics
Mark Culp, PhD   
Chair
mvculp@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-3601
statistics.wvu.edu


World Languages, Literatures and Linguistics
Amy Thompson, PhD 
Chair
Amy.Thompson@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-5121
worldlanguages.wvu.edu


Africana Studies
Devin Smart, PhD 
Coordinator
Devin.Smart@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-9302
africana.wvu.edu


Cultural Resource Management
Melissa Bingmann, PhD 
Coordinator
Melissa.Bingmann@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-9304
culturalresourcemanagement.wvu.edu


International Studies
Clarissa Estep, PhD 
Coordinator  
Clarissa.Estep@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-9600
internationalstudies.wvu.edu


Leadership Studies
Lisa DeFrank-Cole, PhD 
Director
Lisa.Defrank-Cole@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-3544
leadershipstudies.wvu.edu


Multi and Interdisciplinary Studies
Renée Nicholson, MFA
Interim Director  
Renee.Nicholson@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-4722
mds.wvu.edu


Native American Studies
Bonnie Brown, MA 
Coordinator
bmbrown@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-4626
nas.wvu.edu


Religious Studies
Aaron Gale, PhD
Coordinator
Aaron.Gale@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-7733
religiousstudies.wvu.edu


Women’s and Gender Studies
Sharon Bird, PhD      
Director
Sharon.Bird@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-2065
womensgenderstudies.wvu.edu