Skip to main content
In-person undergraduate classes resume Sept. 28. The Return to Campus website has updates about WVU's fall plans. Visit coronavirus.wvu.edu and CDC.gov for health resources related to the global pandemic.

Department Chairs and Directors

Biology
Jennifer Hawkins, PhD
Chair
Jennifer.Hawkins@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-0795
biology.wvu.edu


Chemistry
Gregory Dudley, PhD
Chair
Gregory.Dudley@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-0179
chemistry.wvu.edu


Communication Studies
Scott Myers, PhD
Chair
Scott.Myers@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-3905
communicationstudies.wvu.edu


English
Brian Ballentine, PhD
Chair
Brian.Ballentine@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-3988
english.wvu.edu


Forensic and Investigative Science
Casper Venter, MS
Inteirm Chair
Casper.Venter@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-8595
forensics.wvu.edu


Geology and Geography
Brent McCusker, PhD
Chair
Brent.McCusker@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-4025
geo.wvu.edu


History
Kate Kelsey Staples, PhD
Chair
Kate.Staples@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-9409
history.wvu.edu


Mathematics
Marjorie Darrah, PhD
Chair
Marjorie.Darrah@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-8938
math.wvu.edu


Philosophy and Humanities
Sharon Ryan, PhD
Chair
Sharon.Ryan@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-7704
philosophy.wvu.edu


Physics and Astronomy
D.J. Pisano, PhD
Chair
djpisano@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-4886
physics.wvu.edu


Political Science
John Kilwein, PhD
Chair
jkilwein@mail.wvu.edu 304-293-9576
politicalscience.wvu.edu


Psychology
Kevin Larkin, PhD
Chair
Kevin.Larkin@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-4098
psychology.wvu.edu


Public Administration
Maja Holmes, PhD
Chair
Maja.Holmes@mail.wvu.edu 304-293-7975
publicadmin.wvu.edu


Social Work
Deana Morrow, PhD
Director
deana.morrow@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-5963
socialwork.wvu.edu


Sociology and Anthropology
James Nolan, PhD
Chair
jim.nolan@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-5801
soca.wvu.edu


Statistics
Mark Culp, PhD
Chair
mvculp@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-3601
statistics.wvu.edu


World Languages, Literatures and Linguistics
Amy Thompson, PhD
Chair
Amy.Thompson@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-5121
worldlanguages.wvu.edu


Africana Studies
Devin Smart, PhD
Coordinator
Devin.Smart@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-9302
africana.wvu.edu


Cultural Resource Management
Melissa Bingmann, PhD
Coordinator
Melissa.Bingmann@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-9304
culturalresourcemanagement.wvu.edu


International Studies
Clarissa Estep, PhD
Coordinator
Clarissa.Estep@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-9600
internationalstudies.wvu.edu


Leadership Studies
Lisa DeFrank-Cole, PhD
Director
Lisa.Defrank-Cole@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-3544
leadershipstudies.wvu.edu


Multi- and Interdisciplinary Studies and Regents Bachelor of Arts
Renée Nicholson, MFA
Director
Renee.Nicholson@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-4722
mds.wvu.edu


Native American Studies
Bonnie Brown, MA
Coordinator
bmbrown@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-4626
nas.wvu.edu


Religious Studies
Aaron Gale, PhD
Coordinator
Aaron.Gale@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-7733
religiousstudies.wvu.edu


Women’s and Gender Studies
Sharon Bird, PhD
Director
Sharon.Bird@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-2065
womensgenderstudies.wvu.edu