Skip to main content

C. Eugene and Edna P. Bennett Careers for Chemists

2018 Invited Speakers 

Rip Lee, PhD
Primary Examiner 
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office 
Alexandria, Virginia 

Kay Brummond, PhD 
Associate Dean of Faculty Affairs 
Kenneth P. Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences, University of Pittsburgh 
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Lieutenant Colonel Matthew Moser, PhD
Medical Toxicology Research Division Chief 
U.S. Army Medical Research Institute of Chemical Defense 
Aberdeen Proving Ground, Maryland 

About Careers for Chemists

The Bennett Careers for Chemists program helps students consider career choices after graduation. Every April, the Department of Chemistry invites three speakers to participate. The speakers share a common qualification: a degree in chemistry. Their careers cover a spectrum of choices. In the past, selected speakers have had careers in medicine, law, forensics and journalism, in addition to more traditional careers in business, government labs and academia. 

The speakers meet with three groups of WVU students (honors freshmen, upper-class undergraduates, and graduate students) in an informal setting to discuss career choices and any advice the speakers wish to convey. The evening program allows the speakers to share their wisdom to a wider audience in a more structured format – a dinner with the speakers, undergraduate and graduate students, and chemistry faculty, followed by a program open to the public – short presentations by each speaker and a Q&A. A free dessert social after the Q&A encourages further informal interaction between the speakers and the students.

This program is made possible by a generous donation from the Bennett family. Eugene Bennett received a Bachelor of Science in chemistry in 1949 and an Master of Science in 1951 from WVU. In 1994, the Bennetts established an endowment to create the Careers for Chemists program. In 2004, the decennial of this program and the many additional contributions to the chemistry department by the Bennetts was celebrated with a naming ceremony. The Department is now the C. Eugene Bennett Department of Chemistry.